News : Tour de France: Van Aert wins final sprint of the tenth stage

News :

Tour de France: Van Aert wins final sprint of the tenth stage

On the way from Saint-Flour to Albi, the drivers had to tackle 217.5 kilometers in the tenth stage of the Tour de France - the race was decided only in the final meters. In the final sprint, Wout Van Aert (Team Jumbo-Visma) beat Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) and Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal). For Jumbo-Visma it is already the fourth victory of this year's Tour of France.

The yellow jersey remains with the previous overall leader Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step). Second is defending champion Geraint Thomas (Team Ineos), 1:12 minutes behind team-mate Egan Bernal, 1:16 minutes back. Third-placed fellow favorite Thibaut Pinot (FDJ), as well as Jakob Fuglsang (Astana), Rigoberto Urán (Education First) and Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo) surprisingly lost 1:40 minutes to the top and fell back in the overall standings.

The best German was Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe), who finished 22nd. The 26-year-old advanced from tenth to fifth in the overall classification. "My goal is the top ten, here I am, it looks pretty good," said Buchmann.

About 30 kilometers from the finish strong wind came up. Thereby Deceuninck-Quick-Step and Team Ineso took over the management work, whereupon the main field was divided into three groups. The top group included Alaphilippe and also Buchmann, who played no role in the final sprint.

The tenth stage is followed by the first rest day of the Tour de France, before starting on Wednesday at 13.45 (Liveticker SPIEGEL ONLINE, TV Eurosport and Das Erste) from Albi to Toulouse.

Like it? Share with your friends!